Concert

Concert 12/03/2019 | 19 h 30 - 21 h 00

Aly Ndiaye, aka Webster, was born and raised in the Limoilou area of Quebec, of a Senegalese father and a Quebecoise mother. He always took pride of his roots and defines himself as a Sene Qeb Métis pure wool! His passion for History led him to do University studies in this field.

Hip-hop and anti-racist activist, Webster gets involved at the community level: he regularly speaks at conferences on hip-hop influences over young people, and the issue of multiculturalism in Quebec. His favorite topic is the history of Blacks in Quebec and Canada.

Starting in 2009, he travelled all over Canada and the United States, in order to conduct his writing workshops for youngsters, where he teaches them how to use French in a creative way. He visited many American Universities, among which the prestigious Howard, Washington D.C. and M.I.T..

Webster started his musical journey in 1995; founding Member of the Limoilou Starz Collective, he is one of the leaders of the hip-hop scene in the Old Capital. He is known for the quality of his texts as well as his intellectual views. His art is a tool, which he keeps refining year after year.

Location
Institut français du Laos

Concert

Concert 12/03/2019 | 19 h 30 - 21 h 00

Aly Ndiaye, alias Webster, est né et a grandi dans le quartier Limoilou à Québec. De père sénégalais et de mère québécoise, il a toujours été fier de ses origines et se présente comme un Séné Queb métis pure laine. Sa passion pour l’Histoire l’a mené à faire des études universitaires dans ce domaine.

Militant hip-hop et anti-raciste, Webster s’implique beaucoup socialement : il fait régulièrement des conférences sur l’influence du hip-hop chez les jeunes et la question du multiculturalisme au Québec. Son sujet de prédilection est l’histoire de la présence des Noirs au Québec et au Canada.

Depuis 2009, il parcourt le Canada et les États-Unis afin de présenter des ateliers d’écriture où il apprend aux jeunes l’utilisation créative du français. Il a visité plusieurs universités américaine dont les prestigieuses Howard, à Washington D.C. et M.I.T. à Boston.

Côté musical, Webster est actif depuis 1995 ; membre-fondateur du collectif Limoilou Starz, il est un des pionniers de la scène hip-hop de la Vieille Capitale. Le Vieux de la Montagne est reconnu pour la qualité de ses textes ainsi que l’intelligence de ses propos. Son art est un outil qu’il affine depuis près de deux décennies afin de véhiculer de la manière la plus cinglante son bagage culturel et intellectuel.

Emplacement
Institut français du Laos

http://www.if-laos.org
info@if-laos.org
Tel : (856-21)215764
Fax : (856-21)215766